Commons Sense

House of Commons · Ministers' Questions

Breakfast Clubs Early Adopter Scheme

Monday 10 March 2025 · 2 questions

Summarised by AI from the official record, so it can contain mistakes.

At a glance

Answered 0 Partly answered 2 Not answered 0

Key points

  • The Secretary of State did not provide a specific number of schools that left the breakfast club early adopters scheme prior to 24 February 2025.
  • The Secretary of State confirmed that the basic funding rate for breakfast clubs is not 60p.
  • The Secretary of State did not specify what the actual funding rate for breakfast clubs is.

Topics (select to filter)

Questions & Answers

Q1 Sarah Bool Con South Northamptonshire
Context

Primary schools have faced challenges with the breakfast club scheme, including financial pressures and forced withdrawals. Some schools left the pilot before 24 February 2025 due to funding issues.

Question

How many schools left the breakfast club early adopters scheme prior to 24 February 2025?

Answer from The Secretary of State for Education (Bridget Phillipson)

No, I do not, because that is not actually the case. The Secretary did not provide a specific number of schools that left the breakfast club early adopters scheme prior to 24 February 2025.

Partly answered

Not addressed: The exact number of schools that left the scheme was not provided, only a denial that it is an issue.

How: Denial, Redirect

Was this summary accurate? Tell us

How accurate was this summary? (1 = poor, 5 = spot on)

Get updates like this by email
Q2 Sarah Bool Con South Northamptonshire
Context

Some schools have been forced to leave the breakfast club scheme or face financial losses. The question addresses whether the funding rate for breakfast clubs is 60p, which would be insufficient.

Question

Does the Secretary of State really believe that the basic funding rate for breakfast is 60p?

Answer from The Secretary of State for Education (Bridget Phillipson)

No, I do not, because that is not actually the case. The Secretary does not believe the basic funding rate for breakfast clubs is 60p, but she did not provide details on what the actual funding rate is.

Partly answered

Not addressed: The actual funding rate was not specified; only a denial of it being 60p.

How: Denial, Redirect

Was this summary accurate? Tell us

How accurate was this summary? (1 = poor, 5 = spot on)

Get updates like this by email